The 2017 South African Literary Awards (SALAs) winners announced!

SAB Entrepreneurship programme travels to six cities during October
June 9, 2018
Event Managers’ Basic Tips to Planning an Event on a Budget
June 9, 2018

The 2017 South African Literary Awards (SALAs) winners announced!

This year’s winners of the South African Literary Awards (SALAs) were announced on Tuesday night, 07 November 2017 at UNISA, Pretoria Campus.

Authors, poets, writers other and literary practitioners whose works are continuously contributing to the enrichment of South Africa’s literary landscape were celebrated in an auspicious ceremony.
The SALA Awards have honoured over a hundred individuals in the past 12 years.

The 2017 South African Literary Awards (SALAs winners are:

First-time Published Author Award
Winner: Moses Shimo Seletisha for Tšhutšhumakgala (Sepedi)

K Sello Duiker Memorial Literary Award
Winner: Nthikeng Mohlele for Pleasure (English)

Poetry Award
Winners: Helen Moffett for Prunings (English) and Simphiwe Ali Nolutshungu for Iingcango Zentliziyo (isiXhosa)

Creative Non-fiction Award
Winner: Dikgang Moseneke for My Own Liberator (English)

Literary Journalism Award
Winners: Don Makatile and Phakama Mbonambi

Nadine Gordimer Short story Award
Winner: Roela Hattingh for Kamee (Afrikaans)

Literary Translators Award
Winners: Bridget Theron-Bushell for The Thirstland Trek: 1874—1881 (Afrikaans—English); Jeff Opland, Wandile Kuse and Pamela Maseko for William Wellington Gqoba: Isizwe Esinembali: Xhosa Histories and Poetry (1873—1888) (isiXhosa—English); Jeff Opland and Pamela Maseko for DLP Yali-Manisi: Iimbali Zamanyange: Historical Poems (isiXhosa—English)

Posthumous Literary Award
Winners: |A!kunta, !Kabbo, ≠Kasin, Dia!kwain and |Han≠kass’o (!Xam and !Kun)

Chairperson’s Award
Winner: Themba Christian Msimang

Lifetime Achievement Literary Award
Winners: Vusamazulu Credo Mutwa (English), Aletta Matshedisð Motimele (Sepedi) and Etienne van Heerden (Afrikaans)

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *